Blogs are learning gems… (Sue, I hope you’re reading this!)

I am teaching some colleagues about blogs at the moment but I have reached a crisis point. We have explored ‘best practice’ examples in education, fossicked about in the blogosphere, started blogs, written posts, added links, grappled with blog ‘buzz’ words and experimented with themes. One of my colleagues is convinced and blogging along nicely…the other is wondering why on earth she should bother!

Where do I go from here?

I love blogs (I have four!), I am already a convert. How do I convince someone else that blogging is worthwhile? I have spent some time pondering this question but time is running out…our third session is coming up in two days and I am getting quite desperate! In fact, this post is my last ditch effort to ‘tease out’ ideas

Use the force…of my PLN!!

I realised all I had to offer Sue, the non-believer, was my own (short) blogging experience. Clearly, I needed to widen my search for information and ideas. Hence, this plea to my plurk buddies:

11 responses later most seemed to think it was important to stress the importance of commenting on other people’s blogs and not being a blurker (someone who lurks on blogs but never leaves comments). Thanks to gkat, and drlaurie for their suggestions. Drlaurie also provided links to a relevant coolcatteacher post.

Next stop: Google Reader (665 unread)

Trawling through my subscriptions proved useful. I discovered this blog post by Dean Shareski: ‘Student and Teacher Blogging that Succeeds’. It seemed to reinforce what I’d learned from my fellow plurkers. It also forced me to face the worrying thought that had been simmering: the blogs started by my small group were in danger of failing!

Educational Blogging: be open to the possibilities and just do it!

Blogging is about being involved, really involved, in the ideas of others; engaged and passionate involvement in reading, writing and sharing; a commitment to reflection and, of course, some interest in the topic. My colleagues need to develop good blogging habits; they can’t just start a blog, they need to become engaged in the world of blogging.

The Challenge (Sue, you’re on your own…)

I’ve decided my next blogging session will be about getting involved. I will encourage my group to read, comment, share, and learn. I will also issue them with a series of challenges: write a post once a fortnight (at least); explore the blogosphere, subscribe to a few blogs and comment on them regularly (at least once a week); keep at it for at least three months and then decide if they are bloggers at heart.

7 thoughts on “Blogs are learning gems… (Sue, I hope you’re reading this!)

  1. BookJewel-
    I think this is a marvelous strategy, if I may call it that. This is a wonderful solution for educators who are asking their students and colleagues to adopt and adapt Web 2.0 tools. I’m sorry for your angst, but I think you will be rewarded for it.
    -Skip

  2. That’s a great idea @bookjewel. Reading blogs and commenting on them can be a great introduction to writing one’s own. My class has actually learned a lot from other teachers’ comments on their blog and used the ideas in their learning. They have visited other students’ blogs and looked at new work – it can be lots of fun!

    I can understand some people not blogging. Maybe some people (I’m including myself here) need more time than others to get used to being published. If I do start a blog I’m pretty sure it will be inspired by those blogs on which I already read and comment. I wish you and your teachers luck.

  3. This sounds like a great way to get the teachers involved. I’ve been very lax this summer about not reading many other blogs and have done even worse when it comes to commenting. As a consequence I have not blogged much either. It all fits together. Now that I’ve had a break from it I’m ready to get back at it.
    If at the end of three months some of your students decide they aren’t “bloggers at heart” don’t take it personally. You’ve done a great job of introducing them to the blogsophere. Even if they become blurkers that’s better than not reading at all.
    Good luck with your project.

  4. @bookjewel. Good post. I have to admit that I tend to Blurk. I like to read and digest what others have to say. I also like to post to my own blogs. However, since being a part of my PLN, I have started to comment more often.

    I love the idea of taking class time to read, comment, and post. Time is always an issue so giving dedicated class time is wonderful. You have inspired me to do a class on blogging.

  5. I don’t think blogging is for everyone. I commend you for teaching the class, but I would not pressure the one who is questioning having a blogging presence. I did not create my own presence until I had immersed myself in reading others. I was not motivated until I wanted to reflect publicly in my own space. Before that it was enough to read and learn from others who blogged, and commenting fed my desire to publicly reflect. I wouldn’t put pressure on those who feel they don’t have anything to say right now. If it is meant to be, it will come in time. There are many out there who blog, but blog only every once in a while. One of the ones I like to read is David Jakes, who writes http://thestregthofweakties. David doesn’t overdo it at all, but rather posts when something really churns his thoughts. You might get a couple a posts one month and then not read anythng new for two months. Don’t blog just to be an echo chamber, and don’t blog because its the popular thing to do. Blog to initiate conversations and expand your own learning. Blogging does not make you a better learner, rather the tool allows you to practice activities that do. Those activities are conversing around a topic, seeing what others think, and reflecting on those thoughts and conversations. And that is the beauty of commenting on blogs, links to other blogs, and using a reader. In my own instruction about blogs, I’ve never encouraged anyone to blog. My initial instruction dealt more with getting a reader, subscribing and reading blogs, and subscribing to and blog comments. Many use readers, and subscribe to posts, but fail to subscribe the rss for comments. These two feeds are the ones I look for. I rarely subscribe to a blog that does not offer both feeds. Why? Because it’s not what the blogger has to say that makes me like a blog, but rather the interaction that takes place between the blogger’s post and the commenters, and yes, even the blogger commenting back and forth with commenters in his or her own comments. Great examples that come to mind are Will Richardson’s Weblogged, Dean Shareski’s Ideas and Thoughts, and Doug Johnson’s Blue Skunk Blog. These embody exactly what I like in blogs:posts–>comments–>responses to comments (in the comments field.) Go check them out. And don’t feel like you have failed if a person you are leading in staff development just does not dive right in.

  6. Thanks for this great post! I have just recently begin writing about my teaching (I write about food and family and travel) and over the last year I have been reading lots of edubloggers but not responding to any of them. I have begun to see the power of comments as a writer (I want to know what people think!) so the dialog is important.

    Thanks – I’m hoping to use blogs this year in my all my classes and develop that engagement that you write about with my own students.

  7. Great
    Im a first year teacher who is also addicted to blogging and using web2.0 tools in my classes. Your blog is perfect in that i am currently trying to convince fellow staff that bogging is a worthwhile thing, you have certainly given me some ideas. Hope you can read mine and I can share some with you
    Jarrod

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *